Chicken Teriyaki Casserole

This Sunday I decided to try something new and make this Chicken Teriyaki Casserole from Oh Sweet Basil. It turned out pretty well. It wasn’t necessarily my favorite but it was tasty and filling. The only downside is that it took me a total of 1.5 hours start to finish. You make your own fried rice (I didn’t follow her recipe for that) and your own teriyaki sauce, so there are a few moving parts. I would definitely save this dinner for a weekend.

First pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Cook jasmine rice to package directions. While the rice is cooking, start your sauce. Bring the following ingredients to a boil and cook for 1 minute: low sodium soy sauce, water, brown sugar, honey, ground ginger, sesame oil, and 1 small minced garlic clove. Mix together in a bowl two tablespoons of corn starch and 2 tablespoons of water. Add a teaspoon of the sauce mixture to the corn starch and water and slowly incorporate into the sauce. This will thicken up quickly. Pour ½ the sauce over the chicken (I used boneless skinless chicken thighs) in an oven proof dish. Bake for 30 minutes.

While the chicken is baking, make your fried rice. I came up with this fried rice recipe on the fly and it turned out pretty delicious. Heat 1 tablespoon of sesame oil in a large wok. Scramble one egg in the oil and set aside. Add two tablespoons of vegetable oil to the pan and fry rice for approximately 10 minutes (5 minutes each side – flatten rice in one layer and flip after 5 minutes). If the rice isn’t brown enough or crispy enough for you, keep on cooking! Towards the end add your egg back in. Set rice aside. Steam your stir-fry veggies – I did this in the microwave to save some time and they were perfect. Once the chicken is done cooking, carefully shred in the dish and toss with fried rice and veggies and the rest of the sauce. Pop in the oven for 15 minutes. Serve immediately!

Chicken Teriyaki Casserole

This dinner is super comforting and filling. It’s salty and sweet which is the perfect combination. I also love that you know exactly what is in your sauce because you make it! Jason’s main complaint with this dish was that he didn’t love the vegetable combination I chose. I think I would have had better luck if I stuck with mushrooms and broccoli. Overall it was delicious but it didn’t blow me away. Give it a try and let me know what you think!!

Happy Monday!

Leave a comment