Cooking Light: Sausage, White Bean, and Kale Soup

Autumn is here, finally!

Autumn Trail
This was taken at High Point State Park which is where Jason works, lucky duck!

However, it actually felt like the start of winter over the weekend, which I did not sign up for. It was cold and rainy. This Sausage, White Bean, and Kale soup from Cooking Light is exactly what we needed. Jason is also really sick so soup was a must. I made a couple changes to this recipe, as I usually do, and I think it greatly improved the flavor.

I used spicy pork sausage instead of Cajun sausage. I removed the casings and browned the sausage in a large cast iron Dutch oven. Once the sausage was fully cooked, I drained the fat and added 3 cups of chicken stock and the can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I let that simmer for several minutes while I added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, onion powder, and red pepper flakes. Then I added one can of white beans, drained. I let it all come to a boil and then reduced the heat to low and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. I added the kale and let it simmer for another 10 minutes. Right before I served the soup I added ¼ cup of light cream. The below picture is the soup before I added the cream.

Sausage, White Bean, and Kale Soup

This turned out great. Granted I know I added some fat and calories with the cream but it was worth it! It was rich and silky without being heavy. The kale cooks down a lot which is great because I cannot eat raw kale. It’s just too coarse for me. However it’s wonderful in a soup. The sausage had so much flavor and the red pepper flakes added even more of kick which was delicious. I do think it’s important to add the garlic powder and onion powder. It just gives the soup an extra layer of flavor which it needs. I would even consider sautéing fresh onion with the sausage to start.

This soup is wonderful and filling on its own, but I did make Jason a grilled cheese to go along with it. I opted out but you can’t ever go wrong with a grilled cheese and soup.

NomNomNom

One thought on “Cooking Light: Sausage, White Bean, and Kale Soup

Leave a Reply

