Jalapeno Popper Chicken Chili

It has been unseasonably cool for the past couple days which has been wonderful. It has given us a break from the oppressive heat that had descended upon the NY Metro area. We slept with our windows wide open and in the middle of the night I had to pull on a sweatshirt! What a great feeling. I love summer, but I’m ready for crisp air and autumn leaves. A chilly day deserves a delicious chili recipe. I decided that Monday was the perfect day to try this Jalapeno Popper Chicken Chili that I saw on Skinnytaste.com. The recipe calls for the slow cooker, but I woke up around 5:15 am and just didn’t have the energy or the time to put anything in the slow cooker, so I decided to just make it like I would a regular chili recipe. Stove-top!

This recipe comes together pretty fast. First you brown the chicken and beef in a large dutch oven. Then you pretty much add all the ingredients into the pot followed by the spices and let it simmer for 20-30 minutes so flavors come together. Ladle into separate bowls and top with chopped chives, fresh avocado, and goat cheese. Yes, goat cheese.

Slow Cooker Jalapeno Popper Chicken Chili

I was very surprised by how much I loved this non-traditional chili recipe. It has goat cheese and sweet potatoes which are two ingredients I wouldn’t think to use. However, the end result is amazing. The creamy tangy goat cheese cools down the spice from the jalapenos and it all comes together wonderfully. This recipe doesn’t use beans, but I personally think you could cut back on the meat and add a can of black beans. But I guess it wouldn’t be paleo then…

This is the perfect chili to serve during football season or really anytime you’re craving chili. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Jalapeno Popper Chicken Chili

  1. It’s not quite cold enough down South for chili (in my opinion) but I pinned this the day she posted the recipe because I can’t wait to make it! And goat cheese would taste good on shoes.

    Like

Leave a comment