Restaurant Review: Laurel and Sage

Laurel and Sage is the adorable restaurant that opened up down the street from us on Walnut. It’s off the beaten path and easy to miss. From the outside it really doesn’t look too impressive; however, once you step inside you know you’re in for a treat. The decor is simple and fresh. All the tables are made from butcher blocks and there are several sparkling chandeliers hanging from the ceiling. Jason and I did not have a reservation and decided to see if they could fit us in on a whim. We benefited from a cancellation and were thrilled.

The restaurant is BYO which is very common for Montclair, NJ. I personally love it because you don’t have to spend a fortune on your wine. We brought with us a crisp and fruity Sauvignon Blanc.

We were served a choice of bread table-side from the bead basket and were given a delicious ramekin of honey butter. Immediately following we were served an amuse bouche of chilled pea and potato soup topped with a quail egg. This was delicious. There was so much flavor and the quail egg was cooked perfectly. A chilled soup is wonderful on a hot summer day. I was sad when I finished mine and certainly wanted more. I guess that is the purpose of an amuse bouche, right?

Pea and Potato Soup

We ordered two appetizers, the Crab Cake and the Blackened Swordfish Maki Roll. They were both fantastic. I thought there was a little too much sauce on the crab cake plate, but over all I was really happy with it. The apple slaw that was served with it was sweet, tart, and fresh. The Maki Roll was delicious as well. However, I didn’t feel like the swordfish really came through that much. I mainly tasted rice. I did however love the trio of dipping sauces.

Crab Cake

Swordfish Maki Roll

I didn’t take pictures of our main entrees as I didn’t want to irritate my husband too much, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t love them. Jason ordered the Soft Shell Crab which was so fresh and sweet. Fried to perfection over a bed of corn salsa. I ordered the Red Snapper in a Coconut Red Curry. The fish was cooked perfectly and the curry was sweet with a touch of spice that I loved. I would definitely order this again. It was served with sauteed baby bok choy and a side of cilantro rice. The rice was slightly green from the cilantro and full of flavor. I loved every bite.

We can’t wait to return and try different menu items! If you find yourself in Montclair, NJ don’t miss this restaurant.

6 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Laurel and Sage

  1. Sounds insanely delicious. Let’s see, I would order the maki roll to start (and the salmon two ways if it was a Saturday night and calories didn’t count) and the lamb shank for dinner. Hopefully I would have brought a big red wine to go with the lamb.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

