A healthy little salad…

Last weekend was so low key. Jason was out of town which meant I had lots of time for the gym, organizing the apartment, and salads. First off, I cleaned out my closet. I have a monster pile of clothes to give away. I now need to bag them up and drop them off for donations. It’s such a liberating feeling when you clean and organize your closet. All is right in the world. I also organized our pantry shelves in the kitchen. I purchased little bins so everything is in it’s proper place. Perfection.

Dinner on Saturday was easy. I knew I wanted to do a hearty salad but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to put in it. I ended up with roasted sweet potatoes, avocado, chopped bell peppers, butter lettuce, and the most delicious champagne pear dressing from Trader Joe’s. It was everything I wanted. I simply tossed diced sweet potatoes with a little bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper and roasted them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes turning halfway through. I let those fully cool down and then I chopped up my bell pepper and scooped my avocado. I added all the toppings to a bed of butter lettuce and drizzled the Champagne Pear Dressing over top (make this gluten-free by using a gluten-free dressing).

Fresh Garden Produce

This salad was really filling from the sweet potatoes. It had the perfect crunch from the bell peppers and the perfect sweetness from the dressing. The avocado adds a creamy element that pulls it all together. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

On Sunday Jason came home from his brother’s house with a paper bag full of fresh produce from their garden. I could not be more excited. Everything looked beautiful and delicious. I will use it all!!

Healthy Salad

I hope you all have a lovely week!

5 thoughts on “A healthy little salad…

  1. oh this looks so simple and healthy! I love it.. just what I needed before making my lunch for the day 😀
    just started following you, I have a vegan recipe/lifestyle & Cruelty-free beauty Blog as well, http://www.veganneeds.com
    so glad I found your blog & Happy to connect with you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

