Blue Apron: Ras El Hanout Chicken Pitas

Chicken can be really boring, so I always try to spice it up with sauces and rubs. Blue Apron had the right idea with these Ras El Hanout Chicken Pitas. Ras El Hanout is a North African spice mix and it’s amazing. I googled the ingredients because Blue Apron just sent me a packet of pre-mixed spices and it contains ground cumin, ground ginger, salt, freshly ground black pepper, cinnamon, ground coriander seeds, cayenne, ground allspice, and ground cloves. Yum.

Start by prepping all your ingredients. I would also recommend pounding the chicken breasts. I hate thick tough chicken. I always pound them to about 1/4 inch thick. Then pat dry with a paper towel, salt & pepper both sides, and cover in Ras El Hanout. Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a pan and cook the chicken for about 5 minutes on each side. While the chicken cooks, toast your pitas in another skillet and make your cucumber sauce. This sauce is amazing. It consists of plain greek yogurt, 1/2 of a grated cucumber, garlic, lemon, salt and pepper. It’s so easy and sooo delicious! I will definitely be making this again soon. The Blue Apron meal includes a side of tomato and cucumber tabbouleh, but I honestly did not care for it. I wish I had just put the diced cucumber and tomato on my pita and called it a day.

Chicken pitas

The spiced chicken was perfect but the cucumber sauce made it for me. Sprinkle your finished pita with a touch of mint and roughly chopped pistachios. Voila! You will not be disappointed with this, I promise.

Leave a Reply

