Blue Apron: Miso-Roasted Chicken with Vegetables and Jasmine Rice

One of my favorite parts of each day is coming home to cook dinner with my husband. We don’t have children yet, so we have the luxury of cooking together. Right when I get home I start prepping our ingredients. Jason plays some music and pours some wine before jumping on chopping duty. We have the chance to download, relax, and talk about the days events. We have very different jobs. Jason works outside in the mountains all day while I am in an office in New York City so we always have something to talk about. Halfway through our meal prep we can usually be found dancing ridiculously while the cats stare at us with curious eyes.

Sometimes a recipe fails to impress but I never regret the time we spend together. This unfortunately happened last night. The Miso-Roasted Chicken wasn’t fantastic. The vegetables were outstanding and rice was cooked perfectly, but the Miso was SO salty. Maybe I just used too much? I don’t know, but it was not pleasant on the taste-buds. However, I would absolutely cook these vegetables again.

Shiitake mushrooms are sauteed in a large pan with olive oil until soft. Generous amounts of ginger and garlic are added to the pan and cooked until soft. Add sugar snap peas, snow peas, and pea tips to the pan and cook until the vegetables are bright green and slightly softened. Sprinkle with salt & pepper.

Miso Roasted Chicken

While the picture is on point, Blue Apron half failed me last night. However, I will persevere and continue to try more recipes. You win some you lose some.

I hope you guys have a wonderful weekend. Jason and I can be found at Summer Stage in Asbury Park, NJ enjoying the musical talents of Gogol Bordello and Flogging Molly, most likely in the rain. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

