The one where the taco truck took forever…

There is this delicious little taco truck that sits at the Farmer’s Market in Montclair each Saturday. They serve little bites of happiness. There are few things that I love more than a taco, maybe my cats and my husband. That’s it. This past Saturday I strategically drove by the Farmer’s Market on my way home from Kettle-bells class just to see how long the line was. My heart fluttered when I saw there were only 3 people in line! I sped home to meet Jason so we could walk back together and stuff our faces with Mexican street food.

When we finally arrived the line was slightly longer, but it wasn’t terrible. I thoughtfully browsed the menu and oh so very carefully made my choices: Short-rib, Carnitas, Pollo. Done.

I begin to realize that we have been waiting in this standing line for quite some time. I investigate and discover that they want to send some orders out before they place any more. Fine. I can wait a couple more minutes…ten minutes later and nothing has changed. My anxiety picks up. I start to shoot the employees dirty looks. They pretend not to notice me, but they see me. I see them.

The line still didn’t move. Finally one of the girls comes out of the truck, walks to the chalkboard menu and ERASES Short-rib. WHAT? Nooooooooooo. I express my unhappiness with a series of sighs, grunts and more dirty looks. Jason is truly embarrassed at this point but he is equally unhappy with our present situation so he mostly ignores me. FINALLY they take someone’s order!!! Only to immediately stop, again. At this point I have given up. I will never eat again. I will die here.

Jason eventually drags me, kicking and screaming, away from the motionless line and into a nearby restaurant where we proceed to devour various brunch items. But I never got my tacos…

I suggest you try one of my taco recipes to avoid similar troubles and ensure that your belly is always full! I have previously blogged about my Salsa Verde Chicken Tacos and Short Rib Tacos. Now I bring to you, the Chorizo Taco. You’re welcome.

Ingredients:
1 package of chorizo sausage, casing removed
2 small onions, diced
1/2 of a red pepper, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
Corn Tortillas
1/2 of a cucumber thinly sliced
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons of white vinegar
1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper
Salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:
Mix together the olive oil, white vinegar, lemon juice, lemon zest, crushed red pepper, salt & pepper. Marinate the cucumber and 1 diced onion in the dressing for a couple hours before dinner time.

Brown sausage in a large skillet over medium heat. Try to break it up as much as possible. Drain fat, reserving a teaspoon in the pan. Add onion and red pepper and saute until vegetables start to get soft. Add the garlic and saute until fragrant and tender. Sprinkle with salt & pepper but be careful not to over salt as the sausage is already very seasoned. Microwave corn tortillas between two paper towels for 30 seconds. Plate two tortillas per person and top with Chorizo and Cucumber Slaw.

Chorizo Tacos

I was very pleased with how this turned out. The cucumber cools down the spicy chorizo and the flavors meld together nicely. I love that you don’t need to add a lot of seasoning to the chorizo because it is already very flavorful. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

