Moroccan Spiced Ground Lamb with Chickpeas

Smoky. Sweet. Delicious.

This recipe is fantastic. I highly recommend you make Moroccan Spiced Ground Lamb and Chickpeas for dinner tonight! If you are not a lamb fan, have no fear, simply substitute with beef, chicken, or turkey. However, I have to admit, the lamb adds a depth of flavor that really brings the whole dish together.

I stumbled upon this recipe on the Cooking Light website while looking for something easy to make for dinner after our long weekend in the sun. We tend to stick to some of the same old recipes and I really wanted to try something new and experiment with a new flavor profile.

While the lamb is browning in the skillet I prepped all the ingredients. I sliced the onion and carrot, grated the lemon, and measured out all of my spices. Then I started my quinoa which only took about 15 minutes. You could also serve this with cous cous or rice but I had quinoa so that’s what I used.

Once the lamb is finished cooking, I drained the fat from the skillet while reserving just a tablespoon to saute my onion and carrot (I did not use the additional oil and instead used the fat from the lamb) and set aside. I would recommend throwing the carrots in first, as they take a bit longer to cook. After the veggies start to get soft, add in your spices and cook for an additional 30 seconds to a minute. Add the reserved lamb, chicken stock, raisins, tomato paste, lemon zest, salt and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for an additional 5-10 minutes.

I covered my skillet while it was simmering as my carrots were still not completely cooked through. Remove from heat and stir in lemon juice and cilantro.

Moroccan Spiced Lamb with Chickpeas

Cumin, cinnamon, coriander, and red pepper all come together to create an intensely flavorful dish. The lemon and cilantro add another layer of flavor and freshness that really pulls it all together. Seriously, make this tonight.

One thought on “Moroccan Spiced Ground Lamb with Chickpeas

Leave a Reply

