Slow Cooker: Short Rib Tacos

My slow cooker is quickly becoming my best friend. So is the taco. I keep trying to think of new ways to make a delicious taco. Short ribs are one of my favorite things to eat and the logical solution to my taco troubles. I hardly ever order short ribs when I’m out because I always feel so guilty and they are normally served with heavy mashed potatoes. However, Jason is reliable and I can almost guarantee that he will order short ribs if they are on a menu. Win, win. I eat my food and also steal bites from my husband. Shortly after entering into a partnership with my beloved husband, I came to find out that he’s not great at sharing his food. This is a constant battle but I am usually victorious.

This short rib dish is guiltless! These tender bits are cooked slow on low heat for 8 hours until the meat is falling off the bone. No need to add any extra oil or fat. Make these immediately.

Ingredients:
1 package of short ribs (or two depending how many people you are feeding)
1 red onion (slice half and chop the other half)
3 cups of low sodium beef broth
1 teaspoon of cumin, garlic powder, salt, smoked paprika and chili powder
1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
1 plum tomato, sliced
1 teaspoon of olive oil
1 tablespoon of white vinegar
salt & pepper to taste
corn tortillas
pepper jack cheese (optional)

Directions:
Mix cumin, garlic powder, salt, smoked paprika, chili powder and cayenne pepper. Rub spice mixture over the short ribs and place in slow cooker. Top with sliced onion and pour beef broth over the top. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

Delicious...
Delicious…

Combine the oil and vinegar and pour over diced red onion and let sit in the fridge while the beef cooks. Skim the fat from the stop of slow cooker and shred the beef. Once the short ribs are tender and falling apart assemble your taco!

Warm the tortillas in the microwave under a paper towel for several seconds and top with beef, picked onion, sliced tomato and a dusting of shredded cheese.

Short Rib Tacos

Yum. I can’t get enough of these!

One thought on “Slow Cooker: Short Rib Tacos

Leave a Reply

