Cooking Light: Southwestern Salsa Burgers

A friend of mine sent me the link to a new meal plan she was starting and I got super excited about it. Cooking Light has a fantastic meal plan/diet that you can subscribe to for only about $20 a month. You are sent a meal plan for each week along with a shopping list. The diet is all calorie based, which I have mixed feelings about but I decided that I would sign up for a month and gather a few delicious recipes and inspiration. The full plan doesn’t quite work for me as I don’t have time to cook every breakfast and lunch. I normally eat something simple for breakfast like oatmeal or hard-boiled eggs. Lunch normally ends up being a salad from the deli below my office. However, I am always looking for new dinner recipes. The oldies but goodies do get a little tired after a while. This Sunday our dinner was Southwestern Salsa Burgers. I decided to serve them bun-less with a side of oven baked sweet potato fries.

We are no strangers to cooking burgers at home, but this recipe definitely adds a little spice to your normal old burger. Minced shallot, spices (I used chili powder and a little cayenne pepper), salt & pepper and salsa are combined with ground sirloin. These burgers are simply cooked in your saute pan for about 5 minutes on each side and topped with Monterey Jack and Jalapeno Cheese.

Southwestern Salsa Burger

I served mine bun-less topped with a little butter lettuce and salsa. Yum! I never would have thought to add salsa to a burger, but I was very pleased with the outcome.

The sweet potato fries are super easy. Sweet potatoes are peeled and then cut into thin fries. They are then tossed with a tablespoon of olive oil and salt & pepper to taste. I spread them in one layer on two baking sheets and cooked them at 425 degrees for 15 minutes and then flipped them and baked them for another 10-15 minutes. Soooo yummy! A lighter burger and fries option.

Enjoy!

Tonight I am testing out Crispy Fish Bites with Tartar Sauce. Stay tuned later this week for a review on that recipe.

Leave a Reply

