Irish Soda Bread

Well Saint Patrick’s Day is right around the corner and I decided that I wanted to try to make homemade Irish Soda Bread. Jason and I both LOVE Irish Soda Bread, and I figured it couldn’t be too difficult. I found a delicious recipe from Ina Garten, who I absolutely love. My first attempt was successful but I did learn a couple of things along the way…

First you combine all your dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking soda and salt) and then add 1/2 a stick of cold unsalted butter. The recipe tells you to use a stand mixer with the paddle attachment. I however do not own one of these so I attempted to make this with a hand mixer. I promise you, it makes it very difficult! Clearly it can be done, but it was not easy. In fact it was very sticky and very messy. Once you combine the dry ingredients and butter you beat together the buttermilk, egg and orange zest. Slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry and then add your currants (I used raisins) mixed with a tablespoon of flour. This is where I had the most trouble. My raisins did not want to mix in. I ended up just kneading them in, which seemed to be okay. Finally knead your dough a couple of times on a floured surface and shape into a circle loaf. Place the loaf on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes.

Irish Soda Bread Slice

Serve warm slices with a bit of butter and enjoy!! I hope you all have a happy and safe Saint Paddy’s Day!

Stay tuned later this week for a slow cooker breakfast recipe and a delicious and healthy chicken dinner from Southern Living.

Leave a Reply

