Damn Delicious Swedish Meatballs

Today was lovely. It was 49 degrees and sunny. That felt downright tropical to us. The only problem is that it will be 1 degree tomorrow night. That means ice. We decided to enjoy this day while we could and after my morning barre class headed out to grab some lunch and beers. We went to Just Jake’s in Montclair which is basically a dive bar that has a lot of live music. It was our first time there and we really enjoyed it. The food was delicious! We sat at the bar and I ordered a Pulled Chicken Cuban Sandwich and I have to say it might have been one of the best sandwiches I have ever had! I love a dive bar with yummy food. Jason ordered the Crab Cake Sandwich and while it was good, he was definitely jealous….

For dinner I decided to make Swedish Meatballs from Damn Delicious and it did not disappoint. I would recommend making these on a weekend as it took me start to finish a little over an hour. Maybe I prep slowly but I wouldn’t want to make this in the middle of the week. I only made slight changes to the recipe:

1. I used a beef, pork & veal combo instead of just beef and pork
2. I used Stonyfield Organic Plain Greek Yogurt instead of sour cream
3. I used salted butter, simply because it’s all I had
4. I topped the meatballs with mushrooms sautéed in a little bit of butter

First I Jason quickly chopped an onion and sautéed it in a tablespoon of olive oil. While that was cooking I pulled the rest of the ingredients for the meatballs together in a large bowl. 1 cup of panko breadcrumbs, 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and allspice, salt & pepper, 2 egg yolks, ground meat. Add the sautéed onions and mix together. Now it’s time to start rolling your meatballs. I made 21 small meatballs. In a large sauce pan heat a tablespoon of olive oil and brown the meatballs on all sides in two batches. These will not cook completely which is fine. Set aside to drain on a plate covered with a paper towel.

Now for the sauce… heat 1/4 cup of butter in the same pan. Scrap loose all the yummy browned bits off the bottom of the pan. Whisk 1/3 cup of flour into the butter and then slowly add the 4 cups of beef stock. Once the sauce starts to thicken add the yogurt (or sour cream) and stir until combined. Add salt & pepper to taste. Now it’s time to add the meatballs back into the pan. The sauce may look a little thin but it will thicken as the meatballs cook through. Cover and cook for an additional 10 – 12 minutes.

Swedish Meatballs and Sauce

While the meatballs are cooking I sautéed quartered white button mushrooms in 1/2 a tablespoon of butter. I didn’t want to just serve meatballs but I also didn’t want to do pasta since we ate so many carbs for lunch and I though that mushrooms would taste great with this gravy. Once the meatballs were cooked through I plated them in a bowl and topped with the mushrooms and gravy.

Swedish Meatballs and Mushrooms

Damn this was delicious 🙂 ! You can also serve with egg noodles or maybe some mashed potatoes to soak up all that sauce. Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

