Chicken Stuffed with Mushrooms and Gruyere

My favorite restaurant in Montclair, Le Salbuen, has a delicious sandwich on their menu. It’s a mushroom & gruyere chicken panini. It is heavenly.

Side Note: Unfortunately the last time I was in this restaurant our service was really bad 😦 we were treated very poorly upon arrival due to a misunderstanding with the reservation. The quality of service increased greatly after we were seated. I was so excited to share this amazing place with my family and it started off on a very sour note. I haven’t been back since but it still remains my favorite restaurant and I’m going to give it a pass as everyone has a bad day. Hopefully next time the service will be much better.

This dinner was inspired by that amazing Panini. I try to stay away from sandwich bread, so I decided to stuff a couple of chicken breasts full of the delicious gruyere and mushroom mixture. Warning: You will love this.

Ingredients:
2-3 chicken breasts
2 tablespoons of butter
1/2 package of white button mushrooms, sliced
1/2 onion, minced
1 garlic clove, minced
Salt & pepper
2 tablespoons of olive oil
1/4 cup of fresh grated gruyere cheese

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Saute mushrooms, onion and garlic in melted butter. Spinkle with salt and pepper. Cook for approximately 5-7 minutes until the mushrooms are very tender and cooked down. In a medium bowl mix together the mushroom mixture with grated gruyere cheese. Stuff chicken with mixture.

Refer to my previous post on how to stuff the chicken here. I originally found the directions/method from Skinnytaste.com.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet. Saute chicken on each side for about 5 minutes. Transfer pan to the pre-heated oven and bake for an additional 20 minutes.

Chicken with mushrooms and gruyere

I have to say, the mushroom mixture is definitely the best part. It’s basically the same mixture I used with the Beef Wellington recipe I made for Valentine’s day but with sliced mushrooms instead of diced. I served these yummies with a side of simple steamed green beans that were sprinkled with salt, pepper, and gruyere cheese. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

