Easy Beef Wellington

There is nothing better than a perfectly cooked filet mignon. Unless of course it’s covered in puff pastry and baked to golden perfection. I decided to cook my own version of Beef Wellington while using a recipe as a guide to help with cooking times and technique as it was my first time making this dish.¬†Traditional Beef Wellington includes liver pate; however, my version uses a delicious mushroom, onion and garlic mixture. I was really happy with the final product. We both finished our dinner and still wanted more. That’s how you know it’s good.

Ingredients:
2 small to medium sized beef tenderloin filets
Puff pastry (I actually used Pillsbury)
1/2 package of mushrooms, finely chopped
1/2 small onion, finely chopped
1 clove of garlic, finely chopped
2 tablespoons of butter
1 egg
Salt & pepper

Directions:
Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees. Allow the beef to come to room temperature. Basically just pull the meat out of the fridge 30 – 45 minutes before you’re ready to cook. Salt & pepper both sides. Heat olive oil in a large skillet (I used my brand new Lodge cast iron pan). Sear steaks on both sides. Make sure the pan is really hot. The point here is to get a nice sear on both sides not to fully cook the steak. I probably cooked mine for about 2 minutes on each side. Set the meat aside. In another pan saute the mushrooms, onion and garlic in the butter until soft. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Roll out the puff pastry and cut into two squares. Place each steak in the middle of a square and top with the mushroom mixture. Now cover the whole steak. I pulled the sides into the middle and twisted them around in an attempt to make it look pretty. I also cut the excess dough off the top. Cut a couple small slits on the top of the dough for the steam to release while cooking. Beat an egg in a small bowl with a couple drops of water. Brush the egg wash on the top of the pastry. Pop in the oven to for approximately 20 minutes or until the pastry is golden brown and fully cooked.

Beef Wellington

Yums!! This pictures is making me hungry. I served this with a side of simple roasted asparagus. After the Beef Wellington was finished cooking I popped the asparagus in the oven for 12 minutes. I seasoned them with salt, pepper and a little bit of fresh grated Parmesan cheese. So simple, yet so tasty. The perfect side to compliment this main dish. I also served a really simple Port Brandy Sauce. This sauce is so simple and it’s very easy to prepare while your beef is cooking in the oven. I use this sauce all the time when serving beef and it has never failed me. The port and brandy work together beautifully and butter adds such a rich flavor.

This is a definite splurge and it was worth every single calorie. I did however balance out my weekend by suffering through kettlebells & cardio, barre and pilates. It was still worth it.

Enjoy!! Later this week I’m going post another stuffed chicken recipe that I am so excited to try tonight. Chicken Stuffed with Mushrooms & Gruyere Cheese. Check back for that yumminess.

Leave a Reply

