Baked Chicken with Spinach and Artichokes

Wow. Work has been crazy this week which means I fell super behind on my blog. I’m sorry for being so neglectful. This past Sunday I was craving a healthy low-calorie dinner after my indulgences on Saturday at Markt (I could write a whole blog on this restaurant. I would highly recommend it if you’re in NYC and looking for some Belgium food). I found this recipe on Pinterest and the pictures sold me. I also don’t normally cook with artichokes but I love them, so this was the perfect way to start.

I used boneless skinless chicken thighs but I think that this might be even better with bone-in & skin on. That way you can get a delicious crisp crust that keeps the chicken nice and tender. Pre-heat your oven to 425 degrees. Sear all the chicken pieces in 1 tablespoon of butter and two tablespoons of olive oil. I think the trick with searing any type of meat is to not fiddle with it. I left it alone on each side for about 3-5 minutes. Set chicken aside. In the same pan sauté all your veggies: artichokes, onion, garlic and carrots. Side Note: I was overly thrilled that Whole Foods allows you to buy single carrots. I ALWAYS end up wasting carrots!!! This is amazing and all grocery stores should offer it. Add the spinach to the pan and once it starts wilting add your vegetable stock. Add the chicken back to the pan and bake for about 15 minutes (it will take longer to fully cook with bone-in chicken). Let it stand for about 5 minutes before serving as it will be very hot.

Spinach Artichoke Chicken

Yum! The butter adds so much flavor to the chicken. I think that might make the dish. Along with the artichokes, you can’t forget those artichokes! We had some leftover which Jason brought for lunch the next day but sadly he said that it wasn’t great re-heated. I think this recipe serves about 3-4 people perfectly. Try to eat it all up that night. A healthy, relatively fast one-skillet dinner. Winning.

I hope you all have a lovely Valentine’s day! I’m making a special dinner of Beef Wellington, Asparagus and Red Velvet Brownies for dessert. Check back this weekend to see how it all turned out.

Leave a Reply

