Slow Cooker Sausage and Peppers

The second item from my Super Bowl menu that I never got to make was Slow Cooker Spicy Italian Chicken Sausage and Peppers. This worked out well for me because I ended up making it on Wednesday when I had a super busy day. I went in early to work and also decided to go to a Barre class that evening, so I didn’t get to eat dinner until around 8:45 pm. Luckily I prepped everything the night before so when I woke up around 5:45 am all I had to do was throw the ingredients into the slow cooker and press start.

Slow Cooker Sausage and Peppers

Ingredients:
1 package of spicy Italian chicken sausage
1 red pepper, sliced
1 green pepper, sliced
1 onion, sliced
1 24 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes
1 tablespoon of dried garlic powder, oregano and salt
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme and basil
1/4 teaspoon of fresh ground black pepper
Fresh grated Parmesan cheese
Gluten free pasta, cooked to package directions

Directions:
Prep all ingredients the night before to make your life easy in the morning. Place the peppers and onion at the bottom of a the slow cooker and place the sausage on top. Cover with tomatoes and herbs. You could also probably use a jarred pasta sauce, but then I would skip all the extra herbs. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Cook pasta to package directions right before you want to serve dinner. Serve sauce, sausage & peppers over pasta.

Slow Cooker Sausage and Peppers plated

Delicious! This was perfect for a busy weeknight. I hope you all enjoy your weekend. I am hoping to put together some tasty lunches and desserts because my blog certainly seems to be lacking those recipes…

Leave a Reply

