BBQ Bacon Wrapped Shrimp

Happy Wednesday! We’re half way there people. But we are expecting more snow tomorrow and again on Monday. What is it with the Monday snow storms? This last one really messed up my Super Bowl plans. My mom and my sister both left early so I was all by my lonesome. I decided that it didn’t make too much sense to cook a massive amount of food just for myself, so I decided to turn my appetizers into dinners this week. Starting with BBQ Bacon Wrapped Shrimp. Who doesn’t love bacon wrapped shrimp? No one. Unless of course you’re allergic and that is only excuse.

First pre-heat your oven to 450 degrees. Each jumbo shrimp is wrapped in half a piece of thin bacon and sprinkled with BBQ seasoning. The key with this is took cook the shrimp on a rack in the oven so they don’t sit in the bacon grease. Or you could grill them…I cooked mine for about 20 minutes and flipped them halfway through. While I really enjoyed the flavor, I wish the bacon had been crisper. I think next time I would pre-cook the bacon for a bit before wrapping the shrimp. The recipe recommends doing this if you’re using smaller shrimp, which I wasn’t. I would recommend doing it regardless of the size of the shrimp.

BBQ bacon wrapped shrimp

I tried to plate these like a pro and topped with some delicious organic and gluten-free BBQ sauce that I picked up from Whole Foods. I served these guys with a side of smashed sweet potatoes. I thought the sweetness from the BBQ sauce would pair nicely with the sweet potatoes and it actually worked well! These are great as a main course or as an appetizer and will definitely impress a crowd.

Today is absolutely swamped with work and barre class later this evening. I don’t expect to get home until around 8:45 tonight. Luckily I had planned a Slow Cooker Chicken Sausage and Peppers dinner for tonight. It’s currently cooking away while I’m at the office! Check back for the recipe.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

