Spaghetti Squash with Spicy Chicken Sausage and Broccoli

I write to you on a cold Monday evening! I left work early today because the weather started to look terrible. I luckily got a lot done today and also made it home before dark so I could clean off/dig out my car. My wonderful husband answered my prayers by driving up when I was less than halfway finished. We are all safe and warm and happy to be home!

Bella Cat
This is Bella Cat. She was especially warm and cozy today in our unmade bed!

I realized that I post a lot of dinner ideas and recipes, but I don’t normally post lunch options. This past Sunday I did a little lunch prep for the week. I cooked up a spaghetti squash and mixed it together with chicken sausage and steamed broccoli. I topped it all off with a little bit of fresh grated Parmesan cheese. I divided it up into different containers that I plan to take with me to lunch. So easy, healthy & delicious! Bringing your lunch to work is a great way to stay on track during the week.

Organic (when available) Ingredients:
1 spaghetti squash, cooked and shredded
1-2 links of spicy chicken sausage, casings removed
2 cups of broccoli florets
1 tablespoon of olive oil
salt & pepper, to taste
Parmesan cheese

Directions:
Click here for directions on how to cook a spaghetti squash. Add 1/2 a tablespoon of olive oil to a non-stick pan. Brown sausage in olive oil until fully cooked. Steam broccoli. Add sausage, broccoli, and cooked spaghetti squash into a bowl to mix. Add mixture to the same pan with 1/2  a tablespoon of olive oil and saute for a couple of minutes. Add salt & pepper to taste. If you want a little bit more spice you can add some crushed red pepper.  Divide into bowls and top with fresh grated Parmesan cheese.

Spaghetti Squash with Spicy Chicken Sausage and BroccoliThis re-heats really well! I brought it with me for lunch today and was very pleased. I love spaghetti squash. You can make so many different recipes simply by changing the protein and vegetables included. Make it your own!

Have a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

