Smoky Shrimp Saute with Garlic

I love my parents. They are super supportive and always read my blog. They try out recipes I suggest and are overall really excited about my life. They are the best parents a girl could ask for. My mom is supposed to be coming up on Friday for a girls weekend. My sister is going to drive down from Carmel, NY and we are going to have a full weekend of wine, brunch and possibly the nail salon. Hopefully the snow doesn’t keep them away because I could really use some girl time.

Last week my mom sent me this Smoky Shrimp Saute with Garlic recipe that she made for some friends a while back. I was super excited to try something that she recommended because, in my opinion, my mom is the best cook on the planet. My dad doesn’t do too much cooking but he has perfected the art of the fried egg. Something I still need to work on. Those suckers are tricky. Maybe he will give me some pointers!

This recipe really doesn’t call for too many ingredients. You probably already have the main spice, smoked paprika, in your cabinet. We only had to pick up the shrimp and produce. I always have garlic on hand and usually have white wine nearby. You can even cut down on some prep by buying shelled and de-veined shrimp. I chose to do it myself and save $5.

I would suggest having all your prep done before you start cooking. First get the quinoa going, per package instructions. Then saute the shrimp in heated olive oil, sprinkle with salt & pepper. Add the smoked paprika. Once the shrimp is done, set it aside and add your wine to the saute pan. Reduce the wine a bit and then pour over the shrimp. Add another tablespoon of olive oil to the same pan and saute your veggies. Add a couple of tablespoons of water and cover. Cook until the veggies are tender and then toss the shrimp back into the skillet to re-heat. Serve shrimp & veggies over fluffy quinoa.

Smoky Garlic Shrimp Stir-Fry

I thought this was the perfect dinner! It’s healthy, flavorful and filling. What else do you need?? Quinoa may have some carbs but it’s a really healthy addition to a meal. It also brings along some good protein. If you like shrimp you will love this recipe!

So we got a little snow Monday night…not quite as much as predicted which I think is fantastic. I did however have to dig my car out of the snow…I counted that as my work out for the day.

Stay tuned later this week for a post about Super Bowl prep. I have a great menu in mind!!

One thought on “Smoky Shrimp Saute with Garlic

Leave a Reply

