Organic Turkey Burgers Topped with Pepper Jack Cheese

It has come to my attention that I promised a Turkey Burger recipe a while back and never delivered. Thanks for the reminder, EA! Check out the post below where I just forgot to hit “Publish.”

I love a good burger. Sometimes there is nothing better than a burger, fries and a beer. However that meal is going to contain A LOT of fat and calories which is the opposite of what we need right now! This version is made with lean organic turkey and served bun-less with a leafy salad. These are also gluten-free! These burgers come together pretty quickly which makes them great for a weeknight dinner. As you know, I am all about fast, healthy and delicious.

Ingredients
1 lb of organic ground turkey
1/4 cup of snipped cilantro (or less as it does tend to be a stronger flavor)
1 small red onion, minced
1 clove of garlic, minced
Salt & pepper to taste
Olive oil spray

Directions
Mix turkey, cilantro, onion, garlic and salt & pepper together in a large bowl. Form into 4 burgers.

Raw Turkey Burgers

Spray a heated skillet with olive oil and add burgers to the pan. Cook over medium heat for approximately 5 minutes on each side. I covered my pan to help them cook a little faster. The burgers  are cooked through when they are firm to the touch.

Turkey Burgers

Top with sliced pepper jack cheese and cover for another 1 – 2 minutes so the cheese melts. Serve with your favorite toppings (ketchup, mustard, pickles, etc.) I also threw together a pre-made leafy salad and dressed it with my balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

The cilantro really adds a lot of flavor to these burgers. I also love the addition of onion and garlic. I always like to add a little more flavor to turkey burgers. I knew I would have leftover cilantro from our dinner of Cilantro Lime Chicken, so these burgers were a perfect follow-up. I love it when a plan comes together!

Leave a Reply

