Filet Mignon with Herb Butter and Cheesy Cauliflower

Well, we had a little snow this weekend which was actually really lovely. It wasn’t enough to be an inconvenience but it was just enough to be beautiful and romantic.

Snowy Saturday

We headed to Whole Foods to pick up groceries for the week and this was the first time I’ve gone to the grocery store without a list. It felt slightly chaotic and I did forget a can of black beans but it was kind of fun thinking about what I wanted to cook on the fly. We picked up a couple of filets and I thought a cheesy cauliflower side would pair beautifully.

Steak is something that I always struggle with. I absolutely love a delicious filet, but I always seems to overcook them at home. That is until I found this recipe on No Recipe Required. If you follow this recipe, you will get a fantastic steak in about 10 minutes. The most important part is to let the meat come to room temperature before cooking. This is an absolute must. Then you salt & pepper both sides of the filets. Pre-heat your oven to 450 degrees. Heat olive oil in a large, oven proof skillet and sear the steaks on one side for about 3-4 minutes. It’s important to leave them alone in order for it to get a delicious sear. Flip and sear on the other side for about 3-4 minutes then baste with an herb butter. I simply melted butter and sprinkled it with dried thyme. I then popped the steaks in the oven for an additional 3 minutes. Another very important step is to let the steaks sit for 5 minutes before serving. They were perfect.

Perfectly Cooked Filet

Now before I even started on the steaks, I pulled together a yummy Cheesy Cauliflower from a recipe I found on Epicurious. This was also really easy but it takes about 30 minutes to bake, so you should make this first and then just cover it with foil while you cook the steaks. Those puppies take almost no time to cook, so the cauliflower is still really warm. This recipe is a classic cheese sauce poured over steamed cauliflower and then topped with additional cheese and baked for 30 minutes in a 375 degree oven. What I found interesting is that this recipe suggests you steam the cauliflower first and the break off the florets. I found this to be so much easier than trying to chop it with a knife while its raw.

Cheesy Cauliflower

I loved this. It’s similar to mac & cheese which I am obsessed with, but its so much healthier. I even heated some up the next day for lunch and it re-heated perfectly.

Well, we’re supposed to get hit pretty hard with some snow this week. Luckily we have plenty of groceries and wine 🙂 Stay safe and warm!!!

Check back for a delicious Smoky Garlic Shrimp Stir-Fry. My mom sent me this recipe and it did not disappoint!

Leave a Reply

