Spaghetti Squash and Kale with Fried Chickpeas and Capers

Hello! I hope everyone has had a lovely weekend! It’s currently Sunday evening and I’m not looking forward to waking up early tomorrow morning. I’ve had a wonderful weekend on my own.

I dragged Jason to a vegan restaurant in Montclair that I’ve been wanting to try. He was up for something different so we headed over to Mundo Vegan and were pleasantly surprised with our dinner. It’s a BYO restaurant which is always appreciated. We picked up a nice bottle of red to bring with us. The menu at this restaurant changes daily which is really cool. We ordered the Cheez plate to start, which was a vegan cashew cheese and it was delicious! It was served with dried dates, fresh apple slices and gluten-free bread. I was so surprised by how much we liked this. The cheese was creamy and almost had the consistency of cream cheese. You would never guess that it was vegan. I ordered the Lasagna and Jason ordered the Picadillo. We followed up our entrees with two decadent and rich dark chocolate truffles. We both left full and happy. I highly recommend trying this restaurant if you find yourself in Montclair. Neither Jason or I are practicing vegans and we still really enjoyed it.

I decided to stay on the vegan road for dinner on Saturday. Jason headed up to his brother’s house and I went to Pilates and the grocery store. Big Saturday. I found this intriguing recipe on another blog: Morrocan-ish Spaghetti Squash with Pan-Fried Chickpeas, Capers and Kale. I’ve been trying to find a time to make it but I knew that Jason wouldn’t appreciate it as he doesn’t really like spaghetti squash, kale or capers. Luckily I was on my own on Saturday!

This dish was really easy and so delicious and filling. The hardest part is to cut open that spaghetti squash. They are tricky! Everything comes together in a flash once you have the squash cooked. You pretty much saute the garlic and kale and add the squash to the same pan, meanwhile you fry up your chickpeas and capers in another skillet. Combine and voila!

Spaghetti Squash, Kale, Chickpeas and Capers

Vegan food doesn’t have to be boring, that’s for sure!! Kellie, the creator of this recipe, gives options for people who aren’t vegan or vegetarian. She mentions that some chorizo crumbles would be delicious and I absolutely agree!!

I hope you all enjoy this as much as I did!

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash and Kale with Fried Chickpeas and Capers

Leave a Reply

