Slow Cooker Sunday: Beer Braised Pork Loin & Black Beans with Skillet Hush Puppies

I have to be honest. I totally botched this Beer Braised Pork and Black Bean Soup recipe. It did NOT turn out the way it was supposed to. This is completely my fault because I did not follow the ingredient list properly. That being said, it ended up being pretty delicious anyway.

My first mistake was buying pork loin instead of pork shoulder or butt. I wasn’t thinking clearly and just picked up the one that said boneless. STUPID! I also didn’t read the ingredient list carefully and picked up canned black beans instead of dried. Lastly, I used Coors Light beer instead of a lager which is never a good idea. We had two Coors Light beers in our fridge from about a year ago. Clearly we are not a fan as alcohol doesn’t normally last that long in our household…I have only myself to blame. I do however really want to make this recipe the right way because it looks soooo delicious.

The slow cooker does most of the work for you. You simply add all the ingredients in the crock pot and cook on high for 5-6 hours. Next time I think I will cook on low for 8-10 hours as I prefer the texture of the meat when it’s cooked on low for a longer time.

The pork loin did get tender, but there isn’t much fat on this cut of meat, so it wasn’t as tender as I would have liked. The beer, black beans and cumin add a lot of flavor. I topped our meal with a fresh pico de gallo that I picked up at Whole Foods. This added so much freshness and acid to the dinner. It wouldn’t have been nearly as good without it. You could also top with a Greek yogurt or sour cream but we skipped that.

01052015

I also made skillet hush puppies that turned out great! I followed the instructions on the back of the corn meal package and just pan-fried them in olive oil, turning frequently to make sure that all sides browned and nothing burned. They were a great addition to this dinner and sopped up all that yummy broth!

Hushpuppies

Overall it turned out delicious but not what I was hoping for! You win some and you lose some 🙂 Hopefully I can redeem myself later this week.

I hope you all have a great full week back to work!!

Leave a Reply

