Organic Cilantro Lime Chicken & Rice

This quick and easy dinner was reserved for Sunday after we got back from our North Carolina trip. We got home around 1 pm, so I had plenty of time to go grocery shopping but I wanted dinner to be super healthy and fast. That being said, I actually have mixed feelings about this Cilantro Lime Chicken recipe. It was good but not great. If I make it again I will make a couple of adjustments that I think will improve the flavor a bit. I served this chicken with a cilantro & lime jasmine rice and a couple of avocado slices. I also used only organic ingredients.

Simply cook rice to package directions (I added a little lime juice and zest to the water) while prepping the lime zest, cilantro, garlic, lime juice and avocado. Dice the chicken and sear in heated olive oil. This is where I would change the recipe a bit. It tells you to sprinkle the seasonings on the chicken in the pan while it’s cooking; however, I think you would get a much better flavor if you mix the seasoning with salt & pepper and make a rub for the chicken before searing. You could also mix up the seasonings that are used depending on what flavors you like. Everything else I would do the same!

Once the rice is done cooking, mix in some cilantro and add a touch of salt and pepper. I served this chicken on top of a bed of rice with a side of avocado slices and lime.

Cilantro Lime Chicken

The lime and cilantro really add a lot of freshness to this quick dinner. It’s a healthy dinner with the lean organic chicken breast and good fat from the avocado. I would recommend trying this with the slight revision detailed above. At the end of day, it got the job done, and we stayed healthy after a very indulged week!

Enjoy! Tomorrow I will post my Turkey Burger recipe which is simple, healthy and delicious! This whole week is about the poultry.

Leave a Reply

