Christmas Brunch: Sausage-Hash Brown Breakfast Casserole

Oh my goodness. This has been a LONG week down in North Carolina. I’m sad that it has come to an end; however, I am very happy to be home. I think the kitties are happy too, they won’t leave us alone… This past week was spent with some of my most favorite people in the world. I am feeling very blessed this Sunday evening to have so much love and laughter in my life :).

This Christmas I wanted to cook brunch for my family. I always help my lovely mother with the big Christmas dinner, but this year I wanted to do brunch on my own and she was more than happy to oblige. I looked through a couple of breakfast casserole recipes and settled on the Sausage-Hash Brown Breakfast Casserole from Southern Living. This was so easy and so delicious. I was cooking for 5 and this recipe serves 10 which was actually perfect because we ate leftovers the next morning. This re-heats very well. The eggs are not rubbery at all. The best part about this casserole is that it is so simple!

Breakfast Casserole

You simply brown the sausage in a large skillet while also cooking the hash browns in another large skillet. Drain the grease from the sausage and mix the hash browns, sausage, and 1 cup of cheddar cheese (I also think that pepper jack would be fantastic) in a large bowl. Pour into a large oven safe dish and then pour the beaten eggs and milk over the top! Bake at 350 degrees for 35 – 40 minutes. Easy!!! I would highly recommend using an organic chicken or turkey sausage instead of pork as it will cut down on a lot of fat. I served this casserole with toasted English Muffins, Avocado and a delicious Mimosa!

Breakfast Casserole Plated

Perfect breakfast casserole for Christmas or New Years Day. I hope everyone had a lovely holiday and is looking forward to a healthy New Year!

Later this week I will be posting another recipe review of the yummy Cilantro Lime Chicken and Rice that I whipped up for us tonight.

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

