Organic Vegan Tacos: Sweet Potato, Black Bean and Corn

Well, Christmas is less than a week away, which means I am gong to be eating a lot of food next week! That being said, I decided that we should opt for a light dinner on Wednesday. I love a good taco. LOVE ‘EM! I chose to try a vegan taco recipe that I put together in my head while commuting home one day. These are filled with diced sweet potato, black beans, corn, garlic, onion, lime and a bunch of yummy spices that pull it all together. I served them with Whole Foods brand of organic blue corn tortillas which I really enjoyed. We also did add a bit of cheese to ours, because we love cheese, but that can certainly be left off or substituted with vegan cheese.

Ingredients:
6 organic corn tortillas
1 large organic sweet potato, diced
1 small organic onion, diced
1 clove of organic garlic, minced
1 can of organic sweet corn, drained and rinsed
1 can of organic black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 can of 14.5 oz diced tomatoes with juices
1/4 teaspoon of chili power, cayenne pepper and smoked paprika
1 teaspoon of cumin
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/4 teaspoon of black pepper
2 tablespoons of olive oil

Directions:
Sauté  sweet potato in olive oil until soft. You may need to add a couple drops of water and cover the pan to help them cook faster. Sauté onion in the same pan until soft. Add garlic and sauté for a minute longer. Add black beans, corn, tomatoes and the rest of the spices. Cook together for 10-15 minutes so that some of the liquid evaporates and all the flavors come together. Finish by adding the juice of 1/2 a lime (or a whole one if you want more citrus). Cook taco shells to package directions. Mine took 3 minutes in a 425 degree oven.

Sweet potato taco filling

Stuff tacos full of the delicious filling and top with cheese! We used an extra sharp cheddar and it worked perfectly but I also think that pepper jack would have been delicious. These were definitely a win for me. We both enjoyed them and I will definitely be making them again soon!

Sweet potato Tacos

We are heading down to North Carolina on the 22nd to spend Christmas with my lovely parents and will not be returning until the 28th. We have a full week of kissing babies and celebrating engagements and birthdays with a lot of family time thrown in there too. One of my dearest friends is in town from Hong Kong and I absolutely cannot wait to see her face and spend a whole day & night with her! I hope to have time to sneak in a post next week about our Christmas breakfast and dinner, as I know it will be epic.

I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!!

2 thoughts on “Organic Vegan Tacos: Sweet Potato, Black Bean and Corn

Leave a Reply

