Organic Homemade Pizza (well mostly homemade)

Ahhh, pizza. I have a love affair with pizza. Growing up in North Carolina I didn’t fully understand what I was missing when it came to pizza. But now I’m spoiled. The only problem is that you don’t always know what is being added to your pizza. Check out this article by foodbabe.com. It’s really upsetting but it made so much sense to me. I know for a fact that I can polish off half a pizza with no problem. That is clearly too much food for someone to be eating and not my normal portion size. Food babe explains it all!

Now, I’m not going to sit here and tell you that I don’t order delicious pizza from our local pizza joint, because that would be lie, but I am conscious of how much I am eating and how often. A good alternative is to make your own pizza at home! I really can’t promise that it’s going to taste the exact same but at least you know what your ingredients are and you can be 100% sure you’re not eating any MSG. Even if it’s not the exact same, it’s pretty damn delicious. I enlist a little help from store-bought ingredients with making pizzas. I just simply don’t have time to make my own pizza sauce or dough. I wish I did!

Ingredients:
1 organic pizza crust (you can also find gluten-free pizza crusts)
3-4 tablespoons of organic pizza sauce (you can add more if you want, but careful not too over sauce!)
1 small log of organic fresh mozzarella, sliced
1/8 teaspoon of dried basil
1/8 teaspoon of dried oregano
Organic olive oil
Salt & Pepper

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to package directions on pizza crust, mine was 400 degrees. Brush crust with olive oil. Spread sauce over crust and top with mozzarella cheese. Sprinkle top of pizza with a bit of olive oil, dried basil, oregano, salt and pepper. Pop in the oven and cook according to package directions. Mine only took 10 minutes.

Pizza After

Such an easy and quick weeknight dinner. You can add whatever toppings you want. I would love to load this up with a bunch of veggies but I don’t think Jason would appreciate that, so we stick to the basics!

Stay tuned later this week for a recipe for Vegan Tacos. Well mine might include cheese but that is certainly optional.

Leave a Reply

