Italian Stuffed Peppers

I love stuffed peppers! First of all, I love red peppers. I eat them in all different forms. I even love to eat them raw as a snack. With this recipe I wanted to create something that was a little different from the traditional stuffed pepper and settled on an Italian version. I’m sure this has been done before, but I did not consult a recipe. I just played around with some delicious ingredients! My main concern was to make this light yet also satisfying. I also wanted to have plenty of leftovers….

Ingredients (organic):
4 large red peppers, halved – ribs and seeds removed
1 green pepper, diced
1 yellow pepper, diced
1 small onion, diced
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 package of spicy Italian turkey sausage, casings removed
6 slices of fresh mozzarella
1/2 cup of canned diced tomatoes (with juices)
1/4 cup of white wine
1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning
salt & pepper to taste
Olive Oil

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
Brown sausage in a large skillet in a tablespoon of olive oil until fully cooked, set aside to drain on a paper towel. Wipe grease from pan. Add another tablespoon of olive oil to the pan and saute the onion and diced peppers until soft. Sprinkle with salt & pepper. Add the garlic and saute for another 1-2 minutes, careful not to let the garlic burn. Add the tomatoes, wine, seasoning and sausage. Cook for another 5 minutes until the mixture thickens.

Fill each red pepper half with the sausage mixture and top with a slice of fresh mozzarella.

Italian Stuffed Peppers before oven

Cook for 15 minutes in a foil covered casserole dish. After 15 minutes remove the foil and cook uncovered for an additional 15 minutes.

Finished Italian Stuffed PeppersThe cheese gets all gooey and delicious! Yum! Naturally low-carb and gluten-free. I didn’t serve anything else on the side but we didn’t feel like we were missing anything at all and we still have a bunch leftover for dinner later this week! Great recipe for a quick weeknight dinner.

This weekend I will post a recipe for the awesome mashed sweet potatoes that I made for Thanksgiving. I was asked to bring these to a Festivus (yes, Festivus) party this weekend and I can’t wait to share this awesomeness with you all!

Enjoy!!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Italian Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

