Thanksgiving Menu

Hello Everyone!

I hope you are all gearing up for a healthy and happy Thanksgiving tomorrow. The snow is really coming down here in the NY Metro area. While it’s beautiful, it is definitely creating some travel issues. We are heading up to Jason’s brother’s house tomorrow morning and I am praying that the roads are clear as I am the Thanksgiving cook this year. I am cooking for about 10-12 people and I am very excited to share with them a couple of tasty dishes that were always a staple at my family’s dinner table on Thanksgiving. I have a lot of prep happening today, especially because I am transporting all my groceries and pans (even a slow cooker) to someone else’s kitchen! Wish me luck!

Thanksgiving Menu

Roasted Turkey: I have never cooked a turkey before but I am a pro at roasting chickens, so it can’t be that different, right?!

Giblet Gravy: Not 100% confident in this one. My sauce game needs work. I bought an organic pre-made kind as a back-up.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes: These babies are filled with butter, nutmeg, cinnamon and brown sugar!

Steamed and lightly sauteed green beans: Secret – I steam these in the microwave and quickly saute with a bit of butter and salt and pepper.

Grandma’s Cornbread Stuffing: This will hopefully steal the show. This is my favorite dish at Thanksgiving! Stay tuned later this week for a blog solely dedicated to this deliciousness.

Cranberry Sauce: I am borrowing a recipe from Gimme Some Oven! This sauce is made in a slow cooker, which cooks all day, while I work on other things…like drinking wine.

http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/slow-cooker-cranberry-sauce-recipe/

French Coconut Pie: I previously blogged about this amazing pie and I cannot wait to share it with my family.

I am making the coconut pie today, as it’s one less ingredient list I have to keep track of. I am also making the cornbread for the cornbread stuffing today. It will eliminate having to use the oven for an additional item. Doing a couple prep items the day before really cuts down on all the work the day of. Hopefully everything goes smoothly!

And then there is this….

590x395_thanksgiving_cat

 

Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

