Oven Baked BBQ Chicken with Roasted Purple Cabbage

Ahhh, Wednesday was a long day! I was so happy to be home and have a super easy and fulfilling dinner on the menu for the evening. I have also been feeling like I’m fighting a cold (again) so my energy level was definitely down. This dinner comes together in less than an hour, perfect for a busy couple or family. The clean up is also very minimal. My original plan was to make coleslaw, but I just didn’t have the time the night before, as it is supposed to sit overnight in the fridge. I will just have to save that recipe for another time!

Ingredients:
1 package of organic, boneless, skinless chicken thighs (bought mine from whole foods and it came with 8 thighs)
1 bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce (I used an organic BBQ sauce from whole foods that had a little bit of spice and vinegar. We are fans of vinegar based BBQ sauces in the house!)
1/2 a head of purple cabbage (you can reserve the rest for coleslaw later in the week!)
Drizzle of olive oil
Salt & Pepper
Sprinkle of cayenne pepper

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees. Line baking dish with foil and arrange chicken in dish. Sprinkle with salt & pepper on both sides. Cover with BBQ sauce and bake for 40-45 minutes.

BBQ Chicken
While the chicken is baking, cut the cabbage into 1/2 inch rounds and arrange on a foil lined cookie sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and cayenne pepper. I actually ran out of black pepper while doing this (who does that?!) so I substituted cayenne pepper for a little spice and flavor. Be careful because it will get very spicy very quickly. Roast the cabbage in the same oven for 20 minutes.

Red cabbage

Serve chicken alongside roasted cabbage! Yum!

Chicken and Cabbage

The best part is that all you have to do is toss the foil in the trash and there are no dishes!! So easy, so delicious and that purple cabbage is so pretty! Fun fact: After I bought the fancy organic $8 BBQ sauce, I promptly dropped it on the kitchen floor, where the top of the bottle smashed and about 1/4 of the sauce splattered my kitchen floor. Basically you don’t need a full bottle of sauce; 3/4 of a bottle will work just fine.

If you want to make your own sauce, I would recommend trying a honey mustard sauce. Recipe found on Witty in the City’s blog. This is where I found my inspiration! I have also made this recipe and it is fantastic.

http://www.wittyinthecity.com/2011/08/man-pleasing-chicken/

Enjoy! Here’s hoping warmer weather is coming our way 🙂

Leave a Reply

