Sweet Potato Hash and French Coconut Pie

Happy Veteran’s Day! I am so thankful for all the men and women who have served our country. They are the reason we are able to freely live our lives and I am forever grateful.

I have the day off work which is really nice, as this is the first time I have actually had Veteran’s Day off. We started the day off with a delicious breakfast. This sweet potato hash was inspired by my favorite restaurant in Montclair, Le Salbuen.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Le-Salbuen-Cafe-Market/106728432786175

I love this restaurant SO much. It’s a very small European inspired cafe that is close to our apartment and it’s BYO which helps keep the cost down. The food is all organic and very delicious. I have never been disappointed with anything I have ordered. They have a wonderful sweet potato hash for brunch and I felt inspired to try this at home. It’s now a staple in our house. I make it for brunch and dinner. I usually add a spicy chicken sausage, but I didn’t have any on hand this morning.

Ingredients:
Two sweet potatoes, diced
1/2 yellow onion, thinly sliced or diced
1 garlic clove
Chicken sausage, sliced (any spicy chicken sausage would be good, and it’s also optional)
1 tablespoon coconut oil
2 eggs
Salt & pepper to taste

Directions:
Heat coconut oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add sweet potatoes, onion, garlic, salt & pepper and saute until soft. Add just a couple drops of water and cover the pan to allow the potatoes to fully cook. It should only take about 10 minutes. Add chicken sausage, if using, and brown. If I add the sausage, I use fully cooked Jalapeno Chicken Sausage from Trader Joe’s. However, if I was using a sausage that wasn’t fully cooked, I would cook that first in the saute pan and set aside while I cook the vegetables. Divide sweet potato mixture into two bowls and if necessary add a little bit more coconut oil to the pan and fry both eggs, over easy. Serve egg on top of sweet potatoes and sausage.

You can see in the picture below that this time I left off the sausage and added a slice of bacon. I cooked the bacon first and then cleaned out the pan to prepare the rest of the meal.

sweet potato hash

The coconut oil adds to the sweetness of the potatoes and the spiciness of the sausage (when used) pairs perfectly. I highly recommend giving this one a try on a lazy Saturday or Sunday!

Okay, people. I love coconut. My favorite dessert in the whole world is my Grandma’s Coconut Cake. However, it’s a pretty involved multiple layer cake, which I just don’t have the time for right now. My goal today was to test out a simple Coconut Pie that I wanted to make for Thanksgiving this year. The picture and recipe looked sooooooo good! I found the recipe on Pinterest and it’s from Tasty Kitchen.

http://tastykitchen.com/blog/2011/04/step-by-step-french-coconut-pie/

This pie was so easy. All you do is mix all the ingredients together and pour it into a pre-made pie crust. Easy as pie!

coconut pie - whole

This pie is so good. I couldn’t be happier. I am very excited to share this with Jason’s family over Thanksgiving. And it really couldn’t be simpler. I was so eager to try it that I didn’t let it cool enough which resulted in the below picture. Sorry, not sorry.

Coconut pie - slice

What are you planning to cook for Thanksgiving this year? Trying anything new??

Leave a Reply

