Wine Tasting and Sunday Dinner!

This past weekend we headed up north to Montague, NJ to visit with our good friends and family. We also found some time for wine tasting! Westfall Winery is adorable. It’s a very small and quaint winery in Montague, NJ. They have delicious wine, adorable horses and it doesn’t hurt that one of our friends happens to work there. If you ever find yourself in the area, definitely stop by this fantastic winery. We left with two bottles, the Petite Sirah and the Old Vines Zinfandel. The Petite Sirah is a full-bodied dry wine and it was delicious. The Old Vines Zinfanel is just as tasty but not quite as dry and you pick up on some sweet and fruity notes. Honestly, I don’t know that much about wine. But I do know what I like and I sure do love to drink it!

Westfall winery sign

Westfall winery

Sugar

On our way home on Sunday we stopped by Cava Winery in Hamburg, New Jersey for lunch and a quick little tasting. When I saw the winery from the outside, I wasn’t fully sold. However, once we stepped inside I was really impressed! It’s a very cute place. They have a limited menu of salads, cheeses, and pizzas. We settled for a chicken and sun-dried tomato pizza and a gorgonzola, walnut and fig pizza. Both were fantastic. I wish we had a little more time and will be returning soon. We picked up a bottle of their Cabernet Sauvignon for dinner that night.

Cava wines

Sunday night dinner ended up being Stuffed Cabbage Rolls. I have been seeing this recipe or a variation of this recipe all over Pinterest lately. Now that the weather has cooled down, people seem to be craving some comfort food. I thought I would give this recipe a whirl and it was great!

http://parsleysagesweet.com/2010/10/13/stuffed-cabbage-like-grandma-used-to-make/

I did not make the full amount. The recipe calls for 2 lbs of ground beef but I was only cooking for two so it didn’t make sense to make that much. I only used 1 lb of organic, grass-fed beef. You could also use ground turkey to cut back on some fat and calories, but to be honest, I just really don’t like ground turkey. I also noticed that a lot of packages of ground turkey at Trader Joe’s list “Natural Flavor” as an ingredient. Just Google that one. Not a fan. Anyway, we ended up with 10 cabbage rolls which was perfect for a couple of meals.

Stuffed cabbage before

If you do cut back on the amount you cook, keep in mind that the cooking time will vary. The recipe tells you to bake them for 2 hours in a 350 degree oven. Mine only took 1 hour. This meal makes a bit of preparation, so it’s probably best for a weekend dinner. I believe in total it took me 2 hours start to finish. Making the sauce is a MUST. I only used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, but you can add more or less based on your preference. I served mine with plenty of sauce and a dusting of fresh grated Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed cabbage after

What do you like to cook when temperatures start to drop??

Tomorrow I plan to test out a coconut pie that I potentially want to make for Thanksgiving. Fingers crossed that it turns out as good as the picture looks!

4 thoughts on “Wine Tasting and Sunday Dinner!

Leave a Reply

