Mozzarella Stuffed Meatballs

First of all, I hope everyone voted today!!! I did and I’m so grateful to have the freedom to do so. No matter what your political views are, it’s important to get out there and vote! 🙂

So, I commute to work. Which means I have 80 minutes a day to read or Pin. I normally read on the way in and play on Pinterest on the way home, when I just can’t possibly imagine processing anything besides pretty pictures. This means I find a lot of cooking inspiration on Pinterest, which is fantastic! This dinner was inspired by a recipe that I found while pinning away my commute.

http://bakerbynature.com/30-minute-mozzarella-stuffed-turkey-meatballs-with-homemade-marinara/

I didn’t follow it exactly, as the recipe calls for string cheese, and I wanted to use fresh mozzarella. I also have my own meatball recipe, so I of course used that. I was really happy with the result!

Ingredients:

1 lb organic, grass-fed ground beef
1/4 cup bread crumbs (I used unseasoned, but any type would work)
Sale & Pepper
1/4 teaspoon each of dried oregano, basil, and thyme
1/4 onion, minced
a couple of dashes of Worcestershire sauce
1 egg
fresh grated Parmesan to taste
Fresh mozzarella cheese log (I didn’t use the whole thing)
1 jar of organic vodka sauce (or whatever sauce you prefer)
1 tablespoon of olive oil
I cup of pasta (I used brown rice fusilli)

Directions:

Slice mozzarella into bite size pieces. Combine ground beef, breadcrumbs, salt & pepper, oregano, basil, thyme, onion, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, Parmesan cheese and egg in a large bowl. Form meatballs around mozzarella. Makes approximately 10 meatballs. Heat olive oil in a large skillet and pan fry meatballs on both sides until they are nicely browned. They won’t be fully cooked but that is okay. Pour sauce into a large pot and arrange meatballs within so they are mostly covered, top with a drizzle of olive oil. Bring to a boil and then simmer for approximately 20 minutes. Cook pasta according to package instructions and then serve meatballs and sauce over pasta and top with fresh grated Parmesan cheese!

Mozzarella Stuffed Meatballs

Delicious!! I understand why the original recipe called for the mozzarella string cheese. I think it would make it cheesier and gooier. However, I was still happy with my version. You could also make your own sauce, which would probably be healthier, but I just didn’t have the time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

