Organic Chicken Salad

My last post detailed my long Saturday of chicken! I reserved half of a roasted chicken to make a delicious and simple chicken salad for lunch on Sunday. It turned out beautifully! Jason and I have fallen in love with the chicken salad from the grocery store, A&P. They make it with their house made rotisserie chicken. It was introduced to us by our lovely friends during a summer pool day. However, I started wondering about the actual ingredients and whether or not the chicken was organic (probably not). So I decided to try to recreate it on my own. While it is not the same, it is a pretty good alternative and at least I know all the ingredients!

Organic Chicken Salad

Ingredients:
1/2 of a roasted organic chicken, shredded (I used the white meat)
1 cup of organic mayo (add more or less based on your preference)
2 small organic celery stalks, minced
1/4 of an organic onion, minced (I used a yellow onion but any kind would be fine)
Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions:
Mince the celery and onion and combine with chicken, mayo, salt and pepper. Voila! You have a delicious chicken salad. I made mine the day before but it’s perfectly fine to eat right away! Note: If I was making this just for myself I would have added chopped walnuts and some grapes. Since I was sharing this with Jason, I left those off as he tends to prefer the simpler version.

Chicken Salad

 

Enjoy!

Stay tuned for our Sunday dinner, which was a definite win. Mozzarella Stuffed Meatballs…

Leave a Reply

